How many districts in Maharashtra? The state of Maharashtra has 36 districts and 6 administrations. Ahmednagar is the largest district by area in Maharashtra. Mumbai City is the smallest by area. List of Divisions and Districts in Maharashtra. No. Divisions Districts 1 Amravati Division 1.      Akola 2.      Amravati 3.      BuldanaRead More →